UI STAFF COUNCIL DEI ANNUAL CELEBRATION

March 27, 2023

Welcome

Jackie Kleppe

UI Staff Council President

Speakers

Dr. Barbara Wilson

President, University of Iowa

Dr. Liz Tovar

Executive Officer & Associate Vice President, Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Dr. Denise Martinez, MD

Associate Vice President & Clinical Associate Professor of Family Medicine

V Fixmer-Oraiz

Johnson County Supervisor

Derrick Willis

Administrative Services Director, University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities 2022 Recipient of the Staff Award for Distinguished Leadership in Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

James Jorris

Revenue Cycle Coordinator, UIHC & UISC Vice President/President Elect

Closing Remarks

Neda Barrett

Senior HR Director & UI Staff Council DEI Committee Co-Chair

A Message from the UISC DEI Committee

Today we look forward to celebrating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion on campus and those efforts of all who work tirelessly answering that test by making our campus and community the best it can be. Although, there is still so much work to do, it is necessary to take a step back and reflect on all of our accomplishments and celebrate how far we have come. Thank you for joining the UI Staff Council DEI Committee and esteemed members of the University of Iowa and University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics DEI community for this special event to celebrate all that has been achieved and all that we can still do!

Jerusalem Allenye, Neda Barrett, Robert Butler, Nima Chaudhary, James Jorris, Tammy Paulus, Lisa Piper, Tracey Pritchard, Mary Shumaker, Darrelle Wilkinson

University of Iowa Acknowledgment of Land and Sovereignty

The University of Iowa is located on the homelands of the Ojibwe/Anishinaabe (Chippewa), Báxoje (Iowa), Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo), Omāēqnomenēwak (Menominee), Myaamiaki (Miami), Nutachi (Missouri), Umonhon (Omaha), Wahzhazhe (Osage), Jiwere (Otoe), Odawaa (Ottawa), Pónka (Ponca), Bodéwadmi/Neshnabé (Potawatomi), Meskwaki/Nemahahaki/Sakiwaki (Sac and Fox), Dakota/Lakota/Nakoda (Sioux), Sahnish/Nuxbaaga/Nuweta (Three Affiliated Tribes) and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) Nations. The following tribal nations, Umonhon (Omaha Tribe of Nebraska and Iowa), Pónka (Ponca Tribe of Nebraska), Meskwaki (Sac and Fox of the Mississippi in Iowa), and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska) Nations continue to thrive in the State of Iowa and we continue to acknowledge them. As an academic institution, it is our responsibility to acknowledge the sovereignty and the traditional territories of these tribal nations, and the treaties that were used to remove these tribal nations, and the histories of dispossession that have allowed for the growth of this institution since 1847. Consistent with the University's commitment to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, understanding the historical and current experiences of Native peoples will help inform the work we do; collectively as a university to engage in building relationships through academic scholarship, collaborative partnerships, community service, enrollment and retention efforts acknowledging our past, our present and future Native Nations.

Thank you to the Native American Council for developing this statement.

