Endeavor to establish and maintain working relationships among University of Iowa shared governance bodies and foster good relationships among local, state, and national officials and the University in collaboration with the Executive Committee and in conjunction with Faculty Senate’s Governmental Relations Committee.

Ongoing Responsibilities

  • Attend and present at campus shared governance meetings:
    • Faculty Senate
    • Graduate and Professional Student Government
    • Undergraduate Student Government (UISG)
    • College of Education
    • College of Pharmacy
    • College of Engineering
    • College of Business
    • College of Public Health
  • Maintain list of shared governance group contacts
  • Maintain shared governance portal (
  • Co-chairs to attend Legislative Group sessions
  • Promote and increase presence at outreach opportunities (Hawkeye Caucus, Legislative Letter-Writing events, Regents events, Local Legislative Delegation events, etc.)
  • Work with Committee on Committees to distribute annual Staff Council Report to Presidential Charter Committees
  • Research and report on shared governance models of peer institutions.

Annual Goals, 2018-2019

  • Increase visibility with the state legislature through Hawkeye Caucus and a letter writing campaign
  • Completion of peer (Big 10) benchmarking and establish Big 10 share governance summit
  • Maintain relationships with local (campus) shared governance units and increase collaboration between ORG reps and their shared governance units


While there are no restrictions on membership, at least one Staff Council officer should be a member of the committee.

2018-2019 Staff Council University Relations Committee Members
Cassie Walizer - Co-Chair
Mihaela Bojin - Co-Chair
Sally Fisher
Greg Hopson
Monica Madura
Emily Milke
Katie Millard
Yelena Perkhounkova
John Laverty
Michael Hesseltine
Mike Weaver

2017-2018 Staff Council University Relations Committee Members

Brenda Van Dee, Co-Chair
Mike Weaver, Co-Chair
Carly Armour
Mihaela Bojin
Sally Fisher
Emily Milke
Katie Millard
Matt Watson
John Laverty, Ex-Officio
Erin Brothers, Ex-Officio
Michael Hesseltine, Ex-Officio