Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Iowa Legislators are faced with decisions that impact the University of Iowa in important ways. Whether free speech, support for faculty tenure, research, and facilities, or the working environment many of our students will enter upon graduation, Legislators play a valuable role in guiding the mission of the University through the state government. 

  This year we have an unprecedented opportunity to participate at the beginning of the political careers of three legislators who may be our representatives for many years to come. There are four Iowa House of Representative members and two Iowa Senators that represent the campus. For the first time in years, we have challengers for three open seats in which incumbents are not seeking re-election. 

The University of Iowa Staff Council and the Faculty Senate are co-hosting a candidate forum for those three districts that will appear on the June primary ballot. The hybrid event will occur the evening of Monday, April 18th from 6:30 to 8 p.m. in the second floor ballroom in the IMU, and virtually.  

Seating will be first come-first served.  If you prefer to join virtually, you are welcome to do so at:

The format will be three short panel discussion approximately 30 minutes each split up by District race, with a representative from Faculty and Staff on each panel. Those attending in person will be able to engage with the candidates directly in the common area when they are off stage.  

 Please direct questions to

 List of candidates who have filed so far with the Secretary of State's Office: 

 Senate District 45 (currently held by Joe Bolkcom) : 

 John Raley and Janice Weiner 

 House District 89 (currently held by Mary Mascher): 

 Tony Currin and Elinor A. Levin 

House District 90 (currently held by Christina Bohannon): 

  Andrew Dunn, Christine E. Wolfe, and Adam Zabner