To refine and develop UI policy and procedure central to the human resource needs and concerns of P&S and non-organized merit staff in order that it may advise Central Administration in these matters.

Scope of Concern

The issues that may be addressed include but are not limited to the following:

furlough, temporary status
retraining, professional development, recognition
reallocation of staff due to organizational change
job reclassification and review
workplace safety
performance appraisals
staff benefits
policy revision/implementation
various issues brought forth by staff or administration


Committee membership is a two-year term with a maximum of three back-to-back terms. The chair and vice-chair of the committee will be members of Staff Council. At least three members of the committee will be non-council members and the majority of the committee members will be Staff Council members. Non-council members should have first hand experience in working with human resource issues of concern to P&S and non-organized staff.

2018-2019 Staff Council Human Resources Committee Members
Libby Conley - Co-Chair
Kevin Zihlman - Co-Chair
Mihaela Bojin
Nancy Davin
Karen Kluesner
Heather Mineart
Adam Miller
Steve Paulsen
Ashley Vanorny
John Weyer

2017-2018 Staff Council Human Resources Committee Members

Libby Conley - Co-Chair
Glenda Smith - Co-Chair
Nancy Davin
Michelle Highly
Kimberly Keister
Heather Mineart
Gayle Robertson
Ashley Vanorny
Kevin Zihlman
John Laverty, Ex-Officio
Erin Brothers, Ex-Officio
Michael Hesseltine, Ex-Officio